Meeting Interaction and Multimodality in Language Acquisition

The Philological Research Institute of the National Autonomous University of Mexico convenes the meeting Interaction and Multimodality in Language Acquisition (WIMLA-2022).

Place: Instituto de Investigaciones Filológicas, UNAM
Dates: 22, 23 and 24 June 2022
Langauges: English and Spanish
Modality: Face-to-face and virtual (hybrid)
E-mail: Wimla CLH


WIMLA-2022 will be an international workshop associated with the meetings that the Language Acquisition Research Network in Mexico has held annually since 2000. An international meeting that preceded this one in 2014 had as its theme individual differences in language acquisition. On this occasion, the Meeting will focus on Interaction and Multimodality in Language Acquisition.
WIMLA-2022 cordially invites you to propose, starting now and with a deadline of April 7, communications or posters on affinities and differences in interaction in various acquisition environments: in different communities (non-WEIRD or WEIRD), in environments diverse families, in monolingual or bilingual environments, in children with typical and atypical development, in particular interaction situations or contexts. Thematically relevant papers on native languages of the Americas or sign languages will be very welcome.
We recognize that language does not travel alone and that linguistic messages are compound semiotic expressions, where language, prosody and gesture converge.

The topics that interest us especially correspond –but are not limited– to the following:

o Diversity in interlocutionary practices and interaction management
o Aspects of the organization of dialogue: patterns and sequences.
o Compound messages (multimodal): Language, Prosody, Gesture.
o Dialogic syntax and co-construction

WIMLA-2022 is projected as a hybrid meeting, with face-to-face and virtual oral presentations. The posters will be exhibited and discussed exclusively on-line. It is expected that the face-to-face sessions will take place at the facilities of the Philological Research Institute, in Ciudad Universitaria. However, it is necessary to consider that the sanitary conditions of the month of June could affect the possibility of carrying out activities in person, in which case, all activities would be carried out remotely.
Proposals for posters and oral presentations of 30 minutes (20 +10) in English or Spanish are welcome. The number of proposals will be restricted to a maximum of one presentation or poster as first or sole author, and one presentation or poster as co-author.

Abstracts must have a maximum length of 400 words and include 4 keywords. They must be sent through the meeting website.

The abstracts will be evaluated anonymously by reviewers of the Scientific Committee. The result of this review will be announced to the proponents as of May 6. The registration page on the meeting website will be activated as of that date and will close on June 1st. By then all participants must have registered to appear in the Program of the meeting. Listeners, in a certain number, will be able to register on the same WIMLA-2022 page, and will receive a confirmation and the link for access.

Key dates
Abstract deadline: 7 April 2022
Acceptance notification: 6 May 2022
Closing of registrations and confirmation of participation: 1o June 2022
Program publication: early June
WIMLA-2022: 22-24 June 2022

Keynote speakers
Dan I. Slobin (Berkeley University, USA)
Mark Dingemanse (Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, NL)
Aliyah Morgenstern (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle, FR)

Scientific committee
Natalia Arias (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Alejandra Auza Benavides(Hospital Manuel Gea González, MX)
Barbara Blaha Pfeiler (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Barbara Conboy (University of Reedlands, USA)
Maria-José Ezeizabarrena (Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea /Universidad del País Vasco)
Lourdes de León Pasquel (Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores de Antropología Social, MX)
Rosa Graciela Montes Miró (Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, MX)
Miguel Pérez-Pereira (Universidad de Santiago de Compostela, ESP)
Clifton Pye (Kansas University, USA)
Silvia Romero Contreras (Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí, MX)
Celia Renata Rosemberg (CIPME, CONICET, ARG)
Martha Shiro (Universidad Autónoma de Venezuela)
Comité organizador
Cecilia Rojas-Nieto (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Karina Hess Zimmermann (Universidad Autónoma de Querétaro, MX)
Laura Villalobos Pedroza (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Tecnic support
Judith Martínez (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Arturo Hernández (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Cecilia López (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Itzel Nájera (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
Julio Pérez (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)